I Left My Soul In San Francisco

If love was a drug, then it would be crack cocaine.  If apathy was poetic, then it would be public shame.  I don’t know where I left her.  She has been missing for years.  There were no funerals.  Nobody was in attendance.  I can’t recall seeing anyone shed a tear.

Feelings are for the feeble.  Emotion is for the weak. I miss crying.  I miss trust.  Most of all I miss my sleep.  Today, I awoke to a face I didn’t know.  I remember it vividly.  The wind.  The smell.  There was about an inch of snow.

What made me lose the northern star to my heart?  Is she hiding?  Am I tripping?  Did I lose her during the night with a fart?  Perhaps, I left her at a café in Amsterdam.  Or, it could have been Berlin.  At that club, I know I drank over a liter of crown.

My life is a blur and there is really no way to know.  I just wish I could remember where I left my beautiful soul.  Now I know I need her.  She is so precious to me.  If you find her would you mind mailing her to me?

Like a fiend all I need is just one more taste.  Her face is quite lovely.  It is as timeless as lace.  She smells like the ocean mixed with honey and cream.  She tastes like heaven and her walk is mean.

For now I am in limbo floating around with the wind.  As hopeless as a Charlie Sheenless’ Two and a Half Men. When I find her I know that I will turn it around.  Until then I roam aimlessly from town to town.

  • “There are two tragedies in life. One is to lose your heart’s desire. The other is to gain it.” ~ George Bernard Shaw
  • “All that is gold does not glitter. Not all those who wander are lost.  The old that is strong does not wither.  Deep roots are not reached by the frost.” ~ J.R.R. Tolkien
Leave a Reply

