OFF THE GRID: The Pursuit of Happiness

It all began in October of 2012. I used the following year to become a political activist. I obnoxiously talked of politics, religion, and all things inappropriate at any time. For one full year I pissed off most of my friends and family as I recorded results and finished up on a few social networking projects I had been working on.

November 2013: I finally did it. I deleted my LinkedIn. I deleted my Foursquare. I deleted my Facebook. For one full month, I felt like I had just stopped opiates dry turkey. I felt as if I had gone from 10 xanax’s a day to half a valium. It was tough. I had become so accustomed to using these accounts to keep up with things that it was tough to not do any social media for a few weeks.

December 2013: I deleted my internet. I deleted my cable. Honestly, this wasn’t that big a deal. I had paid $200 a month for these services for as long as I could remember and rarely utilized them. Aside from a game here or there, I rarely miss seeing anything on the televisions I have scattered throughout my home.

January 2013: I gave up alcohol. Well, I wouldn’t say I gave it up, but I have only had a drink twice in the past 2 months. This was surprisingly easy. For someone that was averaging $20k per year in bar tabs, I was amazed at how little I even enjoyed alcohol.

Next month, I will give up soft drinks and fear this will be the my toughest challenge, yet. I don’t drink coffee so this will likely be tough. I hope to have the sugar addiction kicked by April.

As I babble about some of the improvements I am making to my life, take a moment to look at your own life. What changes can you make each month to progress? Not only do you progress, but through a few small changes I am saving over $20,000 per year. How many Jimmy Choos or Kate Spade bags will that buy?

  • “Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible.” ~ Frank Zappa
  • “Never confuse movement with action.” ~ Earnest Hemingway
  • “Progress means getting nearer to the place you want to be. And if you have taken a wrong turning, then to go forward does not get you any nearer.
    If you are on the wrong road, progress means doing an about-turn and walking back to the right road; and in that case the man who turns back soonest is the most progressive man.” ~ C.S. Lewis
Leave a Reply

